• Home
  • EU/EEA countries

EU/EEA countries

The following countries are members of the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA)
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark (excluding the Faroe Isles and Greenland)
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France (including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, La Reunion and Saint-Martin)- *1
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Croatia
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein - (EEA)
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands (excluding Aruba, CuraƧao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba)
  • Norway - (EEA)
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain (including the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands)
  • Czech Republic
  • Iceland - (EEA)
  • Sweden

*1 - French overseas departments
A national of French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte and La Reunion is a French citizen. He is also an EU/EEA citizen.


Switzerland is not an EU/EEA member state. However, a Swiss national has the same rights of residence as an EU/EEA citizen.

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (including Gibraltar, excluding the Channel Islands, BNO passport holders and Isle of Man)

From 1 February 2020 the UK is no longer an EU/EEA member state. However, during the transition period EU law continues to apply.

BNO passport holders
Do you hold a BNO passport? Then, you do not need a visa to travel to the Schengen area. You do, however, need an mvv.

Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City

A national of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino or Vatican City is not an EU/EEA citizen.