Due to a telephone malfunction, the IND is less accessible by phone. It may take longer for us to be able to speak to you. We are working on a solution and keep you informed. Thank you for your patience.

  • Home
  • Participating countries EU blue card

Participating countries EU blue card

The following EU/EEA countries have implemented the European Blue Card (Directive 2009/50/EU):


  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France (including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte and La Reunion)
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein - (EEA)
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands (excluding Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten + Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius)
  • Norway - (EEA)
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain (including the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands)
  • Czech Republic
  • Iceland - (EEA)
  • Sweden

The United Kingdom, Ireland and Denmark have not implemented the European Blue Card.